Skip to main content

Six CIERA Students Awarded Illinois Space Grant Consortium Scholarships to Advance their Research

Illinois Space Grant Consortium Logo

The Illinois Space Grant Consortium awarded six CIERA students with scholarships for the 2014-2015 school year. Graduate students Katie Breivik, who studies under Prof. Shane Larson, and Jason Hwang, who studies under Prof. Fred Rasio, were each awarded $10k by the ISGC. Undergraduates Ben Sandeen, who works with Prof. Vicky Kalogera, Matt Hroma, who works with Prof. Giles Novak, and Emily Ellinger, an advisee of Dr. Jason Steffen, were also each awarded $3k scholarships through this program.  Undergraduate student Daniela Deleon, who works under Prof. Mel Ulmer, also received a $2k scholarship.
The Illinois Space Grant Consortium is a NASA-funded interdisciplinary group that aims to enhance educational, research, and outreach opportunities in space science. Every year, they award outstanding graduate and undergraduate students that are studying space science with a scholarship to help them pursue their course of study.
Congrats to the students and faculty!!