Skip to main content

CIERA Students Awarded Funding for Summer Research and Illinois Space Grant Projects







CIERA is pleased to announce the following awards:

Summer Undergraduate Research Grant Recipients:
Newlin Weatherford: (Advisor: Vicky Kalogera)
Slobodan Mentovic: (Advisor: Vicky Kalogera)

NASA Illinois Space Grant Consortium Recipients
Katie Barnhart: (Advisors: Hooman Mohseni, Mel Ulmer)
Kyle Condron: (Advisors: Mel Ulmer, Jian Cao)
Alex Gurvich: (Advisor: Claude-André Faucher-Giguére)
Noelle McGee: (Advisor: Suzan van der Lee)
Cobi Rabinowitz: (Advisors: Hooman Mohseni, Mel Ulmer
Harriet Wu Colie: (Advisor: Mel Ulmer)
Newlin Weatherford: (Advisor: Fred Rasio)

Physics & Astronomy Undergraduate Awards for 2016
Christopher J. Hansen: Best Senior Thesis—Title: “Analysis of Magnetic Field Structure in Molecular Clouds through Planck and Ground-Based Polarimetry” (Advisor: Giles Novak)
Rebecca Diesing: Best Junior
Nathaniel Speiser: Best Sophomore

Congratulations all!